St Patrick and his Snakes

To be perfectly abrupt, I couldn’t give less of a damn about this holiday. I’m not old enough to drink, I’m not catholic and therefore, I don’t recognize the Saints, I’m not Irish and I don’t look good in green.

The only issue I have with this holiday is the story behind it and why it’s here in the first place.

I know pagans across the globe yesterday were reposting that Facebook graphic saying that there weren’t actually any snakes in that part of the world and St. Patrick was actually driving out druids, but that isn’t exactly true. He didn’t drive out the Druids, he converted them “peacefully.”

My issue with this as one of those annoying whiny pagans is conversion is never a peaceful act. Conversion is looking at a practice, saying “Hmm… I don’t like this so I’m going to force or scare or manipulate these people into turning their backs on their gods for mine.” That is disgraceful in every sense. The europeans probably thought they were being peaceful and “helpful” when they killed Native Americans in the name of colonialism, land-wise and religious. If you have a brain on your head you’d realize that peace was nowhere in the cards when they cut Native children’s hair and forced them to read the bible.

The concept of religious colonization is constant and never ending in my life. There are always people who don’t get it and don’t want to, so they try to “fix” you. By fixing, they really mean to force you into a mold that they’re more comfortable with. Parents forcing children to go to church is an example of this. If your child has learned the word of your god and does not agree, that child is under no obligation to force themselves into a religion their soul is not in tune with. I had to learn this first hand. Which is why I would never ever force my child into paganism. I will teach them, let them know the path and if they choose a different one, then I’m going to support them. And if I’m with a Christian partner, I will not let them force me or my child into a religion that they are not comfortable with. It’s unethical in every sense and more people need to realize this before having children.

To conclude, I refuse to celebrate a holiday celebrating an act of violence and colonization. Same reason I refuse to even acknowledge Christopher Columbus.

(Side note: I know this should have sources and links, but honestly no one reads this except me and I’m using a Mac and Mac computers are the worst, so maybe I’ll add some later.)

One thought on “St Patrick and his Snakes

  1. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with conversion in and of itself – it simply means to change from one thing to another, and in that sense, I describe myself as having converted from agnosticism to Paganism in 1997 – but the subject of Christian conversions throughout history is very complex. The people who say that these conversions were non-violent are at least correct from the standpoint that medieval kings often converted willingly; but the catch is that there was usually a political advantage for them to gain by doing so, and that their subjects had no choice in the matter whatsoever. Of course, society was very different back then – if it’s good enough for the king, it’s good enough for everyone else – and it was usually the kings violently converting the common people, not the Catholic Church. But the whole thing still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. So I agree with you about St. Patrick’s Day; aside from giving me a reason to drink and listen to some U2, I don’t see anything “holy” about that particular holiday.

    Also, you can now say that your blog is being read by at least two people, rather than just one. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

